Down the Trodden Path is a series of fairy tale retellings. While many authors in this genre stick to really classic stories like Cinderella, Beauty and the Beast, Little Red Riding Hood, and so on, I plan to include more uncommon ones. I’ll definitely have the classics, but I’m also planning on stories like Bluebeard, The Glass Mountain, The Nutcracker, and even possibly Sir Gawain and the Green Knight!

Book 1: Darkling

Darkling is Book 1 of the series, a Hansel and Gretel retelling. Kasimir and Imelda are my heroes, but because of the (mandatory? mandatory.) romance, they are best friends instead of brother and sister. Imelda’s excessive caution and Kasimir’s wit make a hilarious duo. I’ll be posting character interviews and snippets eventually, so follow my blog to receive those updates!

Darkling will be published in summer 2017 by Prickly Valley Publications!!

Synopsis: Kasimir is the baker’s son.

Imelda is the woodcutter’s daughter.

Filling in for her arthritic father, the duo ventures into the forest to cut wood. Superstitions abound regarding the evil nature of the trees, but Kasimir is sensible; he knows superstitions are just ridiculous. Imelda thinks otherwise but she’s liked him since she was five and she trusts him (sort of).

Turns out Imelda was right this time. Because there’s definitely a witch in the wood – a witch with a crazy plan to test her new love potion recipe on Kasimir. There’s also the witch’s brother, who wants to be a knight and practises chivalry on Imelda. Oh, and don’t forget the witless talking hat.

What’s a girl to do to keep the boy she loves?

Book 2: Hidden

Hidden is going to be a Beauty and the Beast story. No information is currently available as this instalment is currently an unwritten masterpiece. Once I’m finished editing and what-have-you for Darkling, it will become a masterpiece-in-progress. Stay tuned.